The Resource The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey

The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey

Label
The stolen child : a novel
Title
The stolen child
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Carey
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms. <strong>"Steeped in dark Irish mythology, The Stolen Child is a piercing exploration of regret and desire, longing and love. It is a gorgeously written,inventive, and compelling novel."</strong>--<strong>Ayelet Waldman</strong>"--
  • "From the author of the critically and commercially successful THE MERMAIDS SINGING, a novel about a community living on an enchanted island off the coast of Ireland that explores the town's heady brew of tangled relationships, distrust of strangers, dark magic, and superstition. Think THE SNOW CHILD as written by Sarah Waters or Angela Carter"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Carey, Lisa
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3553.A66876
LC item number
S76 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Americans
  • Inheritance and succession
  • Sisters
  • Superstition
  • Magic
  • Islands
  • Ireland
Label
The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
950447500
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
373, 15 pages
Isbn
9780062492180
Lccn
2016032315
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Stock number
BRO-copy20170208-091
Label
The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
950447500
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
373, 15 pages
Isbn
9780062492180
Lccn
2016032315
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Stock number
BRO-copy20170208-091

Library Locations

    • Cornwall Public LibraryBorrow it
      395 HUDSON ST, CORNWALL, NY, 12518, US
      41.441777 -74.025969
    • Middletown Thrall Public Library DistrictBorrow it
      11-19 DEPOT ST, MIDDLETOWN, NY, 10940, US
      41.447198 -74.420503
    • New City LibraryBorrow it
      220 N MAIN ST, NEW CITY, NY, 10956, US
      41.158324 -73.987325
    • Nyack LibraryBorrow it
      59 S BROADWAY, NYACK, NY, 10960, US
      41.0886222 -73.918602
    • Pearl River Public LibraryBorrow it
      80 FRANKLIN AVE, PEARL RIVER, NY, 10965, US
      41.058086 -74.018233
    • Suffern Free LibraryBorrow it
      210 LAFAYETTE AVE, SUFFERN, NY, 10901, US
      41.113344 -74.137682
    • Valley Cottage Free LibraryBorrow it
      110 RTE 303, VALLEY COTTAGE, NY, 10989, US
      41.1151089 -73.940815

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...