Coverart for item
The Resource City of flickering light, by Juliette Fay, (large print)

City of flickering light, by Juliette Fay, (large print)

Label
City of flickering light
Title
City of flickering light
Statement of responsibility
by Juliette Fay
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Juliette Fay--"one of the best authors of women's fiction" ( Library Journal )--transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen--perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility. It's July 1921, "flickers" are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry. At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth--iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating--and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn't come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life. With her "trademark wit and grace" (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer's Daughters ), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Fay, Juliette
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3606.A95
LC item number
C58 2019b
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print core
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Motion picture industry
  • Motion picture actors and actresses
  • Friendship
  • Nineteen twenties
  • Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Large type books
Label
City of flickering light, by Juliette Fay, (large print)
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1090697909
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
557 pages
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432866655
Lccn
2019012696
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
City of flickering light, by Juliette Fay, (large print)
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1090697909
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
557 pages
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432866655
Lccn
2019012696
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Monroe Free LibraryBorrow it
      44 MILLPOND RD, MONROE, NY, 10950, US
      41.3290911 -74.1894225
    • Nanuet Public LibraryBorrow it
      149 CHURCH ST, NANUET, NY, 10954, US
      41.0902102 -74.0005832
    • Suffern Free LibraryBorrow it
      210 LAFAYETTE AVE, SUFFERN, NY, 10901, US
      41.113344 -74.137682
    • Albert Wisner Public Library - WarwickBorrow it
      1 MCFARLAND DR, WARWICK, NY, 10990, US
      41.2547504 -74.3464483

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...